Defending Leaving the Scene of an Accident

Rhode Island Leaving the Scene of an Accident Attorney

Michael J. Zarrella, Esq

Law Office Address:

127 Dorrance Street

Providence Rhode island 02903

Cell: 401-523-5271

Office 401-490-6820

Fax: 401-490-3207

MJZarrella@gmail.com

DUI Defense Blog

Rhode Island's best DUI blog

Attorney Michael Zarrella's blog is very informative with respect to DUI law, criminal defense and many of the trends in the Rhode Island judical system. Lawyers often read attorney Zarrella's blog to keep abreast of recent updates in the law.


Attorney Zarrella's Blog <

Leaving the Scene of an Accident

Leaving the scene of an accident can be a costly in Rhode Island

 

Under Rhode Island law , if you are the driver of any vehicle involved in a motor vehicle accident where there is property damage or personal injury you have a duty to stop and provide your name, address, driver’s license and registration information. In addition, the driver has a duty to render reasonable assistance to any injured people, if there are any, as well as to notify the police. If you find yourself charged with leaving the scene of an accident charge, it is imperative that you call a criminal defense lawyer immediately! The penalties for failure to stop, can include a large fine, loss of license, probation, and even jail. Furthermore, depending upon your prior driving record and the sentence you receive you may end up with a permanent criminal record for this leaving the scene of an accident conviction.

 

There are 4 types of charges for leaving the scene of an accident under Rhode Island law

The charges you face for leaving the scene of an accident greatly depend on the damage that was caused by the accident. The damage caused by the accident will determine what charges a driver will face.

There are 4 types of charges for leaving the scene of an accident.

The most common Leaving the Scene of an Accident charge is the property damage only. If you are charged with leaving the scene of an accident property damage, then you are facing a misdemeanor and the following penalties:   

 

 

Leaving the Scene of an Accident property damage only

  1. Up to one (1) year at the ACI;
  2. A five hundred dollar ($500.00) fine;
  3. Six (6) month loss of license;
  4. misdermeaor charge

If there is bodily damage then you are facing a felony. There are three types of felonies for leaving the scene of an accident. The driver will be charged in accordance with the injury sustained.

Leaving the Scene of an Accident resulting in personal injury:

  1. Up to one (5) year at the ACI;
  2. A five hundred dollar ($500.00) fine;
  3. 1 to 5 year loss of license;
  4. Felony charge.

 

Leaving the Scene of an Accident resulting in serious bodily injury:

  1. 1 year to 10 years at the ACI;
  2. A five no less then $1,000 and no more then $5,000.00;
  3. up to 2 year loss of license;
  4. Felony charge.

Leaving the Scene of an Accident resulting in death;

  1. 2 years to 15 years at the ACI;
  2. A five no less then $5,000 and no more then $10,000.00;
  3. Up to 3 years loss of license;
  4. Felony charge.

These penalties are for those charged with a first offense. However if you have a prior leaving the scene charge, the penalties can go up dramatically.

 

 

There are defenses to Leaving the Scene of an Accident.

As you can see the penalties for leaving the scene of an accident can be harsh. A top criminal defense lawyer such as Michael Zarrella can help you with your case. Often a good defense lawyer can have the charges dismissed, reduced to a lesser charge or obtain a sentence at the low end of the penalties. Do not take chances on your future! A leaving the scene of an accident conviction can affect your license, job, family or even your freedom. Call a top attorney now! Call Attorney Michael Zarrella.