Drunk Driving Penalties In RI

DUI and Refusal Penalties in Rhode Island

Michael J. Zarrella, Esq

Law Office Address:

127 Dorrance Street

Providence Rhode island 02903

Cell: 401-523-5271

Office 401-490-6820

Fax: 401-490-3207

MJZarrella@gmail.com

DUI Defense Blog

Rhode Island's best DUI blog

Attoney Michael Zarrella's blog is very informative with respect to DUI law, criminal defense and many of the trends in the Rhode Island judical system. Lawyers often read attorney Zarrella's blog to keep abreast of recent updates in the law.


Attorney Zarrella's Blog <

DUI and Refusal Penalties

DUI Penalties for a First Offense

First DUI offense within five years with a BAC between .08-.10%

  • Fine between $100 and $300
  • Suspension of license from one month to six months(see below interlock option)
  • 10 to 60 hours of community service at a non-profit organization
  • Highway Safety Assessment ($500 fee)
  • DUI school and/or drug treatment
  • Mandatory SR-22 Insurance for 3 Years
  • Up to one year in jail (No Mandatory Jail)
  •  

    Interlock option: If the court orders the installation of an ignition interlock device, the penalty for suspension of a driver's license can be reduced to as short as a 30 day period. In addition, the defendant may be able to receive a hardship license during his suspension to allow him to drive for work purposes.

    Length of interlock: 3 months to 1 year

First DUI offense within five years with either no Breath Test or BAC between .10-.15%

  • Fine between $100-$400
  • Suspended license for 3 Months to 1 year(see below interlock option)
  • 10 to 60 hours of community service at a non-profit organization
  • Highway Safety Assessment ($500 fee)
  • DUI school and/or drug treatment
  • Mandatory SR-22 Insurance for 3 Years
  • Up to one year in jail (No Mandatory Jail)
  •  

    Interlock option: If the court orders the installation of an ignition interlock device, the penalty for suspension of a license can be reduced to as short as a 30 day period. In addition, the defendant may be able to receive a hardship license during his suspension to allow him to drive for work purposes.

    Length of interlock: 3 months to 1 year

First DUI offense within five years with a BAC of over .15%

  • Fine of $500
  • Suspended license for 3 Months to 18 Months
  • 20 to 60 hours of community service
  • Highway Safety Assessment ($500 fee)
  • DUI school and/or drug treatment
  • Mandatory SR-22 Insurance 3 Years
  • Up to one year in jail (No Mandatory Jail)
  • Mandatory interlock if over BAC is over .15

 

DUI Penalties for a Second Offense

Second DUI offense within five years with a BAC between .08-.15% or BAC unknown

  • Mandatory fine of four hundred dollars ($400)
  • License suspension for a period of one year to two (2) years (see below interlock option)
  • Highway Safety Assessment ($500 fee)
  • Alcohol or drug treatment
  • Mandatory SR-22 Insurance for 3 Years
  • Mandatory minimum of ten (10) days at the ACI, no more than one year at ACI.
  • Mandatory interlock for 1 to 2 years
  •  

    Interlock option: If the court orders the installation of an ignition interlock device, the penalty for suspension of a driver's license can be reduced to as short as a 45 day period. In addition, the defendant may be able to receive a hardship license during his suspension to allow him to drive for work purposes.

    Length of interlock: 6 months to 2 years

Second DUI offense within five years with a BAC of over .15%

  • Fine of $1000
  • Suspended license for 2 years (see below interlock option)
  • Highway Safety Assessment ($500 fee)
  • Alcohol or drug treatment
  • Mandatory SR-22 Insurance 3 Years
  • Mandatory minimum of 6 months at ACI, no more then 1 year
  • Mandatory interlock

     

  • Interlock option: If the court orders the installation of an ignition interlock device, the penalty for suspension of a driver's license can be reduced to as short as a 45 day period. In addition, the defendant may be able to receive a hardship license during his suspension to allow him to drive for work purposes.

    Length of interlock: 6 months to 2 years

 

DUI Penalties for a Third Offense

Third DUI offense within five years with a BAC between .08-.15% or BAC unknown

  • Mandatory fine of four hundred dollars ($400)
  • License suspension for a period of 2 years to 3 years (see below interlock option)
  • Highway Safety Assessment ($500 fee)
  • Alcohol or drug treatment
  • Mandatory SR-22 Insurance for 3 Years
  • Mandatory minimum of 1 years at the ACI, maximum of 3 years.
  • Mandatory interlock
  •  

    Interlock option: If the court orders the installation of an ignition interlock device, the penalty for suspension of a driver's license can be reduced to as short as a 60 day period. In addition, the defendant may be able to receive a hardship license during his suspension to allow him to drive for work purposes.

    Length of interlock: 1 year to 4 years

Third DUI offense within five years with a BAC of over .15%

  • Fine of $1000-$5000
  • Suspended license for 3 years (see below interlock option)
  • Highway Safety Assessment ($500 fee)
  • Alcohol or drug treatment
  • Mandatory SR-22 Insurance 3 Years
  • Mandatory minimum of 3 years at ACI, maximum of 5 years
  • Mandatory interlock

     

  • Interlock option: If the court orders the installation of an ignition interlock device, the penalty for suspension of a driver's license can be reduced to as short as a 60 day period. In addition, the defendant may be able to receive a hardship license during his suspension to allow him to drive for work purposes.

    Length of interlock: 1 year to 4 years

 

Refusal Penalties For a First Offense

  • Non criminal/Civil violation;
  • $200.00 - $500.00 fine;
  • 60 to 100 hours community service;
  • Six (6) to twelve (12) months suspension of your license;(interlock option)
  • DUI School or alcohol counseling;
  • SR-22 insurance for three years;
  • Assessments

Interlock option: If the court orders the installation of an ignition interlock device, the penalty for suspension of a driver's license can be reduced to as short as a 30 day period. In addition, the defendant may be able to receive a hardship license during his suspension to allow him to drive for work purposes. Length of interlock 6 months to 2 years.

Refusal Penalties For a Second Offense

  • Misdemeanor conviction;
  • Up to six (6) months imprisonment;
  • $600.00 to $1,000.00 fine;
  • 60 to 100 hours community service;
  • One (1) to two (2) years suspension of your license;(interlock option)
  • SR-22 insurance for three years;
  • Alcohol counseling; and
  • Assessments.

Interlock option: If the court orders the installation of an ignition interlock device, the penalty for suspension of license can be reduced to as short as a 60 day period. No hardship license. Length of interlock 1 year to 4 years.

Refusal Penalties For a Third Offense

  • Misdemeanor conviction;
  • Up to one (1) year imprisonment;
  • $800.00 to $1,000.00 fine;
  • 100 hours community service;
  • Two (2) to five (5) years loss of suspension of your license;(interlock option)
  • SR-22 insurance for three years;
  • Alcohol counseling; and
  • Assessments.

Interlock option: If the court orders the installation of an ignition interlock device, the penalty for suspension of license can be reduced to as short as a 90 day period. No hardship license. Leanth of interlock 2 years to 10 years.