Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer

Rhode Island third offense DUI's carry serious penalties

Michael J. Zarrella, Esq

Law Office Address:

127 Dorrance Street

Providence Rhode Island 02903

Cell: 401-523-5271

Office 401-490-6820

Fax: 401-490-3207

MJZarrella@gmail.com

DUI Defense Blog

Rhode Island's best DUI blog

Attorney Michael Zarrella's blog is very informative with respect to DUI law, criminal defense and many of the trends in the Rhode Island judical system. Lawyers often read attorney Zarrella's blog to keep abreast of recent updates in the law.


Attorney Zarrella's Blog <
Rhode Island DUI Lawyer, Third Offense DUI

Third offense DUI in Rhode Island within 5 years is a felony and also carries a mandatory jail sentence.

If you or a loved one are in the unfortunate position of being charged in Rhode Island with a DUI third offense, you are looking at a potentially long jail sentence and a felony conviction.  The penalties for a third offense are very  harsh and often lead to incarceration.  If convicted, a person is looking at a minimum jail sentence of 1 year at the ACI, if his or her BAC reading are unknown or between .08 and .15.  If a person's  BAC is over .15 the defendant is looking at a minimum of 3 years at the ACI.  Furthermore, you will have a felony conviction on your record as well as a large fine and a loss of license for 2- 3 years.

For these reasons, it is imperative that you hire a top Rhode Island DUI attorney to fight for you. Attorney Michael Zarrella is recognized as a top DUI/Drink Driving attorney and criminal defense attorney in Rhode Island. He has a stellar track record of successfully defending drunk driving cases throughout Rhode Island.  He will work tirelessly to fight your DUI. Not everyone that is charged with a third offense DUI goes to jail. Those individuals who have good cases and a top notch defense lawyer can often avoid jail by one of the following ways: having all of the charges dismissed, reducing the charges to a lesser charge, or plea bargaining for home confinement in lieu of jail.  Attorney Zarrella will explore all the weakness in the State's case, in order to obtain the best possible result for you.  Often cases do get dismissed and charges do get reduced, but only when your Attorney can spot the issues and present them to the Court and the prosecutors properly.   Third offense DUI charges have severe, far-reaching, and harsh repercussions. The lawyer that you hire to represent you is an incredibly important decision. Increase your chances of winning and avoiding jail, hire Rhode Island DUI lawyer Michael Zarrella today.

 

Rhode Island Drunk Driving Penalties for a Third Offense DUI within 5 years.

 

The penalties for a DUI third offense DUI in Rhode Island are severe leading to mandatory jail and felony convictions. Attorney Zarrella, with his experience, aggressiveness and understanding will help you though this trying time and try to help you avoid the penalties and stigma that are associated with a driving under the influence conviction. These are the following penalties for DUI in Rhode Island:

Third DUI offense within five years with a BAC between .08-.15% or BAC unknown

  • Mandatory fine of four hundred dollars ($400)
  • License suspension for a period of 2 years to 3 years (see below interlock option)
  • Highway Safety Assessment ($500 fee)
  • Alcohol or drug treatment
  • Mandatory SR-22 Insurance for 3 Years
  • Mandatory minimum of 1 years at the ACI, maximum of 3 years.
  • Mandatory interlock
  •  

    Interlock option: If the court orders the installation of an ignition interlock device, the penalty for suspension of license can be reduced to as short as a 60 day period. In addition, the defendant may be able to receive a hardship license during his suspension to allow him to drive for work purposes.

    Length of interlock: 1 year to 4 years

Third DUI offense within five years with a BAC of over .15%

  • Fine of $1000-$5000
  • Suspended license for 3 years (see below interlock option)
  • Highway Safety Assessment ($500 fee)
  • Alcohol or drug treatment
  • Mandatory SR-22 Insurance 3 Years
  • Mandatory minimum of 3 years at ACI, maximum of 5 years
  • Mandatory interlock

     

  • Interlock option: If the court orders the installation of an ignition interlock device, the penalty for suspension of a driver's license can be reduced to as short as a 60 day period. In addition, the defendant may be able to receive a hardship license during his suspension to allow him to drive for work purposes.

    Length of interlock: 1 year to 4 years