Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer

Rhode Island second offense DUI's carry serious penalties

Michael J. Zarrella, Esq

Law Office Address:

127 Dorrance Street

Providence Rhode Island 02903

Cell: 401-523-5271

Office 401-490-6820

Fax: 401-490-3207

MJZarrella@gmail.com

DUI Defense Blog

Rhode Island's best DUI blog

Attoney Michael Zarrella's blog is very informative with respect to DUI law, criminal defense and many of the trends in the Rhode Island judical system. Lawyers often read attorney Zarrella's blog to keep abreast of recent updates in the law.


Attorney Zarrella's Blog <
Rhode Island DUI Lawyer, Second Offense DUI

Second offense DUI in Rhode Island within 5 years carries mandatory jail

Rhode Island penalties for a second offense DUI within 5 years are very severe. If you do not get yourself a good DUI defense lawyer, you may be looking at time at the ACI and a long license suspension! Often a good defense lawyer may be the difference between time at the ACI, home confinement, a reduction of charges or an outright dismissal. You can't go this alone; you need to hire a top Rhode Island DUI lawyer to help you though this trying time.

Rhode Island DUI Attorney Michael Zarrella has been helping people with the second offense DUI charges for over twenty years. His clients routinely avoid serving time at the ACI for a second offense drunk driving charge. Whether Attoney Zarrella achieves a dismissal, has the charges reduced to lesser crimes, or negotiates a sentence to be served on home confinement, Attoney Zarrella will fight to prevent you from incarceration. In addition, he will fight to help you keep your license and avoid a long suspension. His track record of success is long and impressive. Do not hesitate call him today at 401-523-5271

 

Rhode Island Drunk Driving Penalties for a Second Offense DUI within 5 years

 

The penalties for a DUI in Rhode Island are severe even for a first time offender. Attorney Zarrella, with his experience, aggressiveness and understanding will help you though this trying time and try to help you avoid the penalties and stigma that are associated with a driving under the influence conviction. These are the following penalties for DUI in Rhode Island:

Second DUI offense within five years with a BAC between .08-.15% or BAC unknown

  • Mandatory fine of four hundred dollars ($400)
  • License suspension for a period of one year to two (2) years (see below interlock option)
  • Highway Safety Assessment ($500 fee)
  • Alcohol or drug treatment
  • Mandatory SR-22 Insurance for 3 Years
  • Mandatory minimum of ten (10) days at the ACI, no more than one year at ACI.
  • Mandatory interlock for 1 to 2 years
  •  

    Interlock option: If the court orders the installation of an ignition interlock device, the penalty for suspension of license can be reduced to as short as a 45 day period. In addition, the defendant may be able to receive a hardship license during his suspension to allow him to drive for work purposes.

    Length of interlock: 6 months to 2 years

Second DUI offense within five years with a BAC of over .15%

  • Fine of $1000
  • Suspended license for 2 years (see below interlock option)
  • Highway Safety Assessment ($500 fee)
  • Alcohol or drug treatment
  • Mandatory SR-22 Insurance 3 Years
  • Mandatory minimum of 6 months at ACI, no more then 1 year
  • Mandatory interlock

     

  • Interlock option: If the court orders the installation of an ignition interlock device, the penalty for suspension of license can be reduced to as short as a 45 day period. In addition, the defendant may be able to receive a hardship license during his suspension to allow him to drive for work purposes.

    Length of interlock: 6 months to 2 years